Rolf Nordstrom

MINNEAPOLIS – U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz has appointed Great Plains Institute CEO & President Rolf Nordstrom to serve a two-year term on the agency’s 24-member Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC). The current roster of EAC members can be found here.

The committee’s purpose is to provide “senior-level counsel to DOE” that helps “define a strategy on long-range planning and priorities for the modernization of the Nation’s electricity delivery infrastructure.” The committee advises DOE on a wide range of issues including deployment of smart grid technologies, integration of renewable energy and distributed energy resources (e.g., energy storage), and transmission infrastructure.

“I’m honored to be in such good company and be asked to serve in this way. It’s a credit to the exceptional work GPI has done over the past two decades with a remarkable diversity of interests to transform our energy system to be economically and environmentally sustainable,” Nordstrom said. “My colleagues work on these issues every day and I’m excited to share our collective experience and expertise with fellow committee members and with the DOE.”

Nordstrom will serve initially on the EAC’s Smart Grid Subcommittee and Grid Modernization Initiative (GMI) working group, though will have the opportunity to contribute to the Energy Storage and Power Delivery subcommittees as well.


The Great Plains Institute ( is a non-partisan, non-profit organization that takes a pragmatic approach to energy and climate change challenges – working with diverse interests to transform the way we produce, distribute, and consume energy to be both economically and environmentally sustainable. Through research and analysis, consensus policy development, technology acceleration and local action, we are leading the transition to clean, efficient and secure energy. To achieve its mission, GPI works in seven areas: energy efficiency, energy infrastructure, fossil energy, renewable energy & fuels, transportation, international collaboration, and sustainable communities.

Media Contact:

Amanda Bilek
[email protected]

Share this: